Burnt – And Counting the Cost

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Burnt.”

Remember  this prompt, when your home was on fire and you got to save five items? That means you left a lot of stuff behind. What are the things you wish you could have taken, but had to leave behind?
Looking back at the house as the fire department do their job, and holding the  Five items  I could salvage in my hands, a lot of other items came to mind that I know I will really feel their loss.

1. The gas cooker – I have only used it for fourteen years and I was hoping to beat my mother’s record of twenty five years of using the same cooker in almost the same good condition.

2. My children’s PS3s games and their other gadgets. I will definitely  not hear the last of it from them.

3. The family photo albums. Oh my God. Memories that we will not be able to refer to again in picture forms.

4. Those clothes, shoes and bags that I’ve been saving for special occasions. Very painful. I wonder if those stores I got them from would be nice enough to refund my money or at least half of it if they hear my sad story. Yeah right.

5. I will surely miss the sitting room settees. They have been there from the beginning and they tell their own stories.

6. Above all I will miss the comfort of the familiar home  environment , every room with its peculiar coloring, mood and settings.

7. Other things will come to mind at the points I will have need of them, by then I will probably indulge myself and cry over spilt milk for a little while.

Most importantly, I thank God for lives saved because all these items can be replaced over time with even better ones.

2 thoughts on “Burnt – And Counting the Cost

Leave a Reply

